Fall Blogorama, EGGPLANT; Savory, Simple, Nasty, Sweet?, and Nearly Famous

Inspiration from across the internet

Grilled Eggplant Recipe Illustration

Grilled Eggplant Recipe Illustration

If you’re interested in finding out more about the above Grilled Eggplant illustration, click here. Eggplant??! EEEEISH! Yesterday I left a bowl of scooped out eggplant flesh on the kitchen table. I had left it there to get it out of the way whilst I prepared the rest of the ingredients for the fabulous eggplant-yogurt dip for book club last night. He sat down at the table for his morning coffee. IIISSSSHHHH, he said. What’s that? It looks like some wet work I sent the shop-vac after. It all began with a search of Afghani food for our book club potluck, knowing there were eggplant in the garden, and onions in my tiny pantry. What I discovered were posts and pictures of some pretty funky and creative dishes that I’ll be preparing in my teensy-tiny oven in my trailer kitchen. The Farmer’s Markets still have a good bit of the deep purple, cylindrical vegetable. They do transform dramatically once roasted and skinned however. Be brave. If you can possibly get over the snail-like texture of the flesh of the beast, you’ll find sweetness underneath.

Eggplant and Black Bean Rollups from Vegan Runner Eats

Eggplant and Black Bean Rollups from Vegan Runner Eats

Eggplant Savory From Alina; Vegan Runner Eats Eggplant Rollups with Black Bean-Potato Stuffing Gluten-free and gloriously without much processed food involved.  I’ll maybe try sweet potato in lieu of Irish potato.  Don’t know yet. You’ll need: eggplant, homemade or storebought marinara sauce, potatoes, onion, garlic, yellow or orange bell peppers, black beans, oregano, thyme, sage, sweet paprika, nutritional yeast, salt n peppah.

From Barefoot Essence

From Barefoot Essence

Eggplant Simple: From Barefoot Jacq; of Barefoot Essence.  “un-fussy gluten-free plant-based food + inspiration to live with less stuff delivered to your inbox.”  Cool. Eggplant Hummus Pizza What you’ll need: eggplant, homemade hummus (or store bought), homemade or store bought marinara sauce.  Jacq’s got a recipe for a Portuguese pumpkin hummus I’d like to give a spin as I’ve got a tub of roasted acorn squash in the teensy-tiny-grateful fridge..  You can also sprinkle on a bit of nutritional yeast or vegan cheese. Click here for the link to her Portuguese pumpkin hummus

Portuguese Pumpkin Hummus for the Eggplant Hummus Pizza

Portuguese Pumpkin Hummus for the Eggplant Hummus Pizza

Click Here for the link to make the homemade pepper paste if you’re so inclined.

BBQ Eggplant Spaghetti

BBQ Eggplant Spaghetti

Eggplant Nasty: Now some folks would think those two words are synonymous. From Justin Fox Burks and Amy Lawrence of The Chubby Vegetarian: The Chubby Vegetarian BBQ Eggplant Spaghetti The recipe calls for 2 Italian eggplant, halved.  That only makes ½ cup of “pulled” barbecue.  If you’ve got more room in your oven, roast more than one.  Shoot!  Even in my scrawny, little (but so grateful I’ve got it) trailer oven I can get 4 split eggplant resting on parchment stuffed into the box. What you’ll need:  eggplant, canola oil, Memphis BBQ Dry Rub (recipe included), Chipotle BBQ Sauce (again recipe is in here, or buy your favorite), spaghetti noodles, dairy or vegan cheese.  Memphis BBQ Dry Rub: chipotle, smoked paprika, sweet paprika, garlic powder,  salt, cumin, black pepper, brown sugar, thyme, oregano, and ancho chili powder.

Eggplant Chocolate Cake with Nespresso

Eggplant Chocolate Cake with Nespresso

Eggplant Sweet!!? From Billy Law’s A Table for Two. Eggplant Chocolate Cake with Nespresso I actually found a dessert eggplant.  It looks good.  It looks like a deep and profound experience.  This is a chocolate, coffee, vanilla, base that piques my interest.  A flourless chocolate tart with a sweet short pastry crust that’s elegant I’m looking forward to making.  The recipe was inspired by a classic Melanzane al Cioccolate, that you can search out and try too.  It’s Italian. And scha-weet!!  And a bit heavy with all the deep frying of the eggplant.  Us southerners would probably prefer that.  Not me. Maybe the folks “down under” have different taste buds.  Kinda doubt it. When I conduct this experiment, I suspect I’ll use Italian espresso powder as that is more commonly available down heah in SW VA. What you’ll need: eggplant, dark chocolate, eggs, cocoa powder, Nespresso or espresso powder, almond meal, powdered sugar, baking powder, sliced almonds, flour, butter, salt. See? Simple.

Vegan Eggplant Parm Cupcakes

Vegan Eggplant Parm Cupcakes

Eggplant Nearly Famous; From the vegan kitchen of dr caligari; Vegan MoFo2: Eggplant Parmigana cupcakes Craaayyyy-Zeeee appetizer or snack for cheffy friends. What you’ll need: flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, non-dairy milk, oil, non-dairy cream, cashews, basil, eggplants, tomatoes, garlic, cute little cupcake cups. I’m LOVING the late October smells and getting all cozy on chilly at night.  We’ve replaced the light, white chenille coverlet with a big down comforter to snuggle under.  I’m happy harvest is right around the bend.

3 thoughts on “Fall Blogorama, EGGPLANT; Savory, Simple, Nasty, Sweet?, and Nearly Famous

  1. Awesome post Beth, I might be trying a few of these recipes! And thank you for including my recipe for Eggplant Rollups! By the way – I’m sure they’ll work well with sweet potatoes. That was actually my first idea, but hubby isn’t a fan of sweet potatoes, so I used regular. More power to you though!

  2. Eggplant made me gag as a kid … but only because it wasn’t cooked completely! It took me a lot of years to stick it in my mouth again, but I love it today!!

Leave a comment